HILLARY DAVIS

March 4, 2010

Smear of Color

Filed under: iPhone,Photography,Writing — Hillary Davis @ 8:52 pm

I am amazed at the wonderful photos I am capturing with my iPhone…..to the point of my thinking about doing a photo exhibition titled Taken With My iPhone. For the daughter of an early New York fashion photographer, whose work graced the covers of Vogue, this might seem a bit of an affront. My father worked in the days when everything was manual, technical, and actually experimental. He spent a great deal of time working with the people at Kodak on their papers and with the engineers at Leica on their glass and in the dark room dodging. On the other hand, I am instead fascinated with what occurs without manipulation or study.

However, he would be delighted, if he were alive, to see the joy I am having from my random, careless photography. We are different. Yet so much the same. His focus on depth of field is my focus on capturing a flash of purple while hanging my camera out of the car window while driving by a field of lavender. I’d be thrilled to get a smear of color. My father would be thrilled to see me thrilled.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.